Effective: 2017-2018

Learn more about how we grade

Does Your Lawmaker Make The Grade?

Does your lawmaker make the grade? Check your scorecard and and see if lawmakers in your district vote with our land, air and water in mind.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Key Information

Senate Bill 1188 (S-1) would enact the “Vegetation Removal Preemption Act” to do the following:

  • Prohibit a local unit of government from adopting, maintaining, or enforcing an ordinance, charter provision, or regulation, on or after the Act’s effective date, that restricted, or require mitigation for, trimming or removal of any vegetation other than a heritage tree, located on certain private property.
  • Specify that an ordinance, charter provision, or regulation that did any of the above would be void.
  • Specify that the Act would not prohibit a local unit of government from adopting or enforcing certain ordinances that complied with the Act, such as an ordinance that requires private property to be maintained in a healthy, neat, and orderly appearance.

Senate Bills 1189, 1190, 1191, 1192, 1193, and 1194 would amend the General Law Village Act, the Home Rule Village Act, the Charter Township Act, the Michigan Zoning Enabling Act,Chapter 16 of the Revised Statutes of 1846 (which governs townships), and the Home Rule City Act, respectively, to specify that each of those Acts would be subject to the Vegetation Removal Preemption Act proposed by Senate Bill 1188.

Learn more at


13 Pro-Environment
23 Anti-Environment
0 N/A
See How Your Lawmaker Voted
Name Party Affiliation Chamber District Lifetime Score Pro/Anti Environment
Adam Hollier DEMOCRATIC Senate 2 96%
Dale Zorn REPUBLICAN House 34 43%
Jim Stamas REPUBLICAN Senate 36 43%
Mike Shirkey REPUBLICAN Senate 16 45%
Tonya Schuitmaker REPUBLICAN Senate 26 45%
Wayne A Schmidt REPUBLICAN Senate 37 48%
Tory Rocca REPUBLICAN Senate 10 90%
David Robertson REPUBLICAN Senate 14 27%
Morris Hood III DEMOCRATIC Senate 3 91%
Dave Hildenbrand REPUBLICAN Senate 29 27%
Curtis Hertel Jr. DEMOCRATIC Senate 23 100%
Goeff Hansen REPUBLICAN Senate 34 27%
Vincent Gregory DEMOCRATIC Senate 11 91%
Mike Green REPUBLICAN Senate 31 27%
Judy Emmons REPUBLICAN Senate 33 18%
Ian Conyers DEMOCRATIC Senate 4 100%
Patrick Colbeck REPUBLICAN Senate 7 27%
Tom Casperson REPUBLICAN Senate 38 27%
Jack Brandenburg REPUBLICAN Senate 8 27%
Darwin Booher REPUBLICAN Senate 35 27%
Steve Bieda DEMOCRATIC Senate 9 100%
Hoon-Yung Hopgood DEMOCRATIC Senate 6 100%
Ken Horn REPUBLICAN Senate 32 36%
John Proos REPUBLICAN Senate 21 20%
Phil Pavlov REPUBLICAN Senate 25 27%
Margaret O'Brien REPUBLICAN Senate 20 27%
Mike Nofs REPUBLICAN Senate 19 18%
Arlan Meekhof REPUBLICAN Senate 30 27%
Jim Marleau REPUBLICAN Senate 12 20%
Peter MacGregor REPUBLICAN Senate 28 44%
Mike Kowall REPUBLICAN Senate 15 36%
Marty Knollenberg REPUBLICAN Senate 13 27%
David Knezek DEMOCRATIC Senate 5 100%
Rick Jones REPUBLICAN Senate 24 45%
Joe Hune REPUBLICAN Senate 22 27%
Jim Ananich DEMOCRATIC Senate 27 100%